The Show Must Go On: In Life and at Carnegie Hall


Pretty interesting read…

New York Cliché

The cliché: How do you get to Carnegie Hall? Practice.
New York Cliché: How do I get to Carnegie Hall? A friend gets me comp tickets.

feature image via

The view from my seat, second row center, is remarkable. I can see every furrow of concentration on the cellist’s brow. I witness the many colors- from pink to magenta to purple- that turn on the bassoonist’s face as he commands his instrument in a career defining solo. I notice that none of the violin players wear wedding rings. I find myself lost in the music and my thoughts: do left hand bands impede playing or does this orchestra only allows single violinists?

The seats of Carnegie Hall are cushioned and comfortable. One expects no less from a venue of this renown. Now into the fourth and final movement of the concert featuring contemporary American composers, the audience has adjusted to the cutting-edge modernism…

View original post 739 more words

Leave a Reply

